Guide

One ingredient, wild-caught salmon: what that covers

Updated

Single ingredient salmon dog treats have one line on the ingredient list and nothing after it. Ours is wild-caught salmon, which the listing says is freeze-dried in small batches with no fillers or preservatives. The phrase tells you what is in the pouch. It does not name the fishery or catch method. The pieces do include skin.

What does single ingredient mean on a salmon treat?

It means the ingredient list has one entry. For a salmon treat, that entry is salmon, and there is no second line for a binder, a coating, a flavoring or a preservative. That is the full meaning of the phrase. It describes the list, and only the list.

It is worth being clear about what the phrase is not. It is not a grade, a certification or a promise about what the treat does for a dog. Two single ingredient treats can be different fish, handled differently, in different sizes, and the phrase will fit both. Behind a search for one ingredient salmon treats sits a plainer question: is anything else in here? For our pouch the answer is no, and the rest of this page covers what that does and does not settle.

What is the one ingredient in our pouch?

Wild-caught salmon. The listing names it as the only ingredient, with nothing added, and we keep to that wording. Because the one ingredient is fish, the pouch contains fish; there is no separate line to read for that.

The fish is raw before it is freeze-dried, and the label has a line for that. The bag says: "Wash your hands after handling it." The product page has more on raw handling; your veterinarian takes the questions it leaves open.

On where it is made, the listing is specific about the pouch rather than the fish: "Every pouch is made and shipped by Sniff and Shift in Malvern, Pennsylvania." Some bags hold imported wild-caught salmon. That sentence is the whole of our origin statement, and we do not add a country, an ocean or a catch method to it.

What does "no fillers or preservatives" cover?

The listing's line is this: "We freeze-dry it in small batches, with no fillers or preservatives." It covers the ingredient list, the same ground as single ingredient, said a second way. If you came here searching for salmon dog treats with no preservatives, or salmon dog treats with no fillers, this is the sentence that answers you.

It does not cover the process. How the salmon is freeze-dried and how long a batch takes are not stated anywhere we can quote. For an opened pouch, our own guidance is to finish it within 30 days, alongside the label's storage line. The bag says: "Reseal the pouch once it is open and store it cool and dry."

The label does carry a guaranteed analysis, printed on the bag: crude protein 66 percent minimum, crude fat 9 percent minimum, crude fiber 10 percent maximum, moisture 11 percent maximum, and 3,020 kcal ME/kg. Those lines are read one at a time in our guaranteed analysis guide, so we will not repeat that work here.

What does single ingredient not tell you?

Quite a lot, and we would rather list it than let the phrase imply more than it says. On our pouch, the following are not stated by the label or the listing:

  • catch method, beyond the word wild-caught
  • the fishery
  • where the fish was processed before it reached us
  • bone content
  • pieces per pouch and per-piece weight

Not stated is the honest word for each of those. Two answers have come in since: the pieces include skin, and each pouch carries a best-by date one year from production. We say nothing about bone content, because nothing we hold covers it. A reader who needs any of those answers should ask us directly rather than read them into a two word phrase.

Wild-caught salmon is the only line on the ingredient list, with no fillers or preservatives.

$15.00
Purchase type

A subscription renews automatically at the frequency you choose, at that frequency's discount (5% to 25% off), until you cancel. Change or cancel it in your Sniff and Shift account. Subscription policy

  • Pink salmon is the only ingredient
  • Freeze-dried by Sniff and Shift in Malvern, PA
  • Free standard shipping once an order reaches $50
  • Orders are placed on Sniff and Shift's Shopify store

Does single ingredient make it a complete diet?

No, and the bag is direct about it. The bag says: "Not intended as a complete diet." Its feeding line is just as short: "Feed as a treat or meal topper."

One ingredient means the list is short. It says nothing about what a dog's whole day of food should look like, and we are not the people to say that either. Salmon only dog treats sit on top of a regular diet, in an amount your veterinarian is comfortable with.

For the arithmetic, the treat budget calculator on our product page starts at 10 percent of the daily calories you type in and shows the result as salmon by weight, using the label's figure of about 85.6 kcal per ounce for the 1.5 oz pouch. The percentage is a default setting, not our advice, and your veterinarian sets the real share. Our other guides are listed on the guides hub.

Questions

Is there anything besides salmon in the pouch?

No. The listing names wild-caught salmon as the only ingredient and says it is freeze-dried in small batches with no fillers or preservatives. Because that ingredient is fish, the pouch contains fish. There is no coating, binder or flavoring, and there is no second line on the list to read.

Is the salmon wild-caught?

Yes. Wild-caught salmon is our wording for the fish in every pouch, and some bags hold imported wild-caught salmon. We do not go further than that: no fishery, no country, no ocean, and no catch method beyond the word wild-caught, because none of those are stated in anything we can quote.

Is a single ingredient treat raw?

Not by definition; the phrase only describes the ingredient list. Ours happens to be: the salmon is raw before it is freeze-dried. The bag says: "Wash your hands after handling it." The product page covers raw handling, and for anything about raw salmon and your own dog, ask your veterinarian.

Are the seafood sampler bags single ingredient too?

The sampler listing says so: "Single ingredient in every bag. Suitable for dogs and cats." The box holds three bags, our freeze-dried salmon, shrimp and blue-lipped mussels, and the same listing notes that it contains shellfish and fish. This page covers only the salmon pouch.

Does the pouch include salmon skin or bones?

The pieces include skin. Bone content is not stated anywhere we can quote, so we say nothing about it either way. If that answer matters for your dog, ask us before you buy and ask your veterinarian as well.

Is one ingredient enough for a full meal?

No. The bag says: "Not intended as a complete diet." A short ingredient list describes the treat, not a dog's full day of food. Feed it as the label says, as a treat or meal topper, and let your veterinarian set how much of the day it should take up.